Magic: THE DARK WIFE Gets a Sequel, and This Year is Gonna Be Rainbows

So much changed for me in 2013. It was the most transformative year of my life, and I feel, in this first magical day of the new year, that I am a completely different person, looking ahead at the possibility of what these twelve bright months holds. 2013 housed family tragedies (A LOT OF THEM), sadness and illness (without insurance!), heartache and the kind of fires that temper swords. In the end, I am a different woman, a changed woman, but as much as there was sorrow and sadness in this past year, it made me stronger, brighter, more courageous than ever before. And I wouldn’t have changed a single thing.

I have so much to tell you. Important things. So let’s start at the very beginning…

– I no longer have an agent

In September, my agent and I amicably parted ways, as her role in the agency was evolving. She was an amazing lady, and I adored her and our relationship together, but I’m also excited to see how my publishing will evolve in 2014. I’d held back a lot of work as my agent and I discussed what we were going to do with it, which means I have a couple of books already written and ready to be put out into the world. At this time I’ve decided that I’m going to self publish the bulk of what I have, as I have a lot of work that I want to put out there (and because my self-published presence has not been as robust as I’d like because so much had to be done behind the scenes). This does not mean that I don’t want an agent!  If you’re an agent who’s passionate about getting LGBTQ literature out into the YA world, I’d love to talk with you! But for right now, this means that…

– 2014 is going to be a rainbow year!

I have quite a few books already finished and ready to go, and some that just need a light edit. This means that while you didn’t see a lot from me in 2013, you’re going to be seeing a lot from me in the months to come.  I have big plans to release several books this year!  There are stand-alone novels coming, some I’ve been excited about and teasing you with for ages! There’s also going to be a great new series coming…a pre-apocalyptic love story, if you’d believe it. ;D But that ALSO means that…

The Myth Makers will finally be continued

My very first novel, the lesbian YA retelling of the Persephone myth, The Dark Wife, was always going to be the first book in a series of myth retellings, all with lesbian heroines. I’ve teased you with mentions of the other projects for almost three years now, but I can promise you this: 2014 is going to be the year The Myth Makers continues. And it starts with…

The sequel to The Dark Wife

When I finished The Dark Wife, something was nagging at the back of my heart. I felt very much that this was not the end to Persephone and Hades’ story. They are going to show up in other books in The Myth Makers series, but that’s not what I felt. I felt something bigger. Greater. I joked around with Jenn a couple of times that I was going to write a story of Persephone at the end of the world with a robot arm. Because she’s my wife, and a sainted creature, she would always laugh at that absolutely ridiculous joke.

But I did want to write a sequel. Just not one involving robot arms. 😄 And it kept tugging at me, this idea, and growing in me…

And this past month, I knew the story I had to tell. It came to me much the same way The Dark Wife had. It was late at night. I was in bed, almost fast asleep…and the story slammed into my head and heart. I had to get up (even though it was three o’clock in the morning), run to the writing room, our black cat quickly on my heels, and for the next three hours, I wrote the outline for the story, Emily Dickinson (said black cat) purring in my lap until the wee hours of the morning, while the world slept and the myth unfurled before me on the page, ink dripping from its skin.

The Dark Wife is getting a sequel. Three years after The Dark Wife‘s release, I have started work on its second book: The Dark Dream.

What can I tell you about The Dark Dream? That the strength of a goddess is tested. That a god, once vanquished, craves revenge. That love is neverending.

That love takes us to the darkest places. And saves us.

I am overjoyed beyond belief to be sharing this with you.

– In the meantime…

Sign up for our newsletter if you’re excited about the coming months! Project Unicorn, Volume 2 is going to be our release for January, and I’ll reveal the cover for that (and details about where Project Unicorn is heading!) very soon. I’m so excited about this coming year.

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Magic: THE DARK WIFE Gets a Sequel, and This Year is Gonna Be Rainbows

  1. Arielle says:

    *squee heard ’round the world*
    I.CAN’T.WAIT! I’ve been going through serious Diemer withdrawals. ❤

    Like

    • Sarah says:

      I’m so glad you’re so excited! And we are sorry about the withdrawals but so happy you love our stories enough to have withdrawal from them! ;D ❤

      Like

  2. gemmaelf says:

    JOINS IN THE SQUEES HEARD AROUND THE WORLD OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG 😀

    Like

  3. Amanda says:

    I can’t breathe, you two! This morning was just made 50 billion times better knowing there are more Sarah and Jenn stories to fill my next year! Eeeeeeeeeeeee!

    Like

  4. Taty says:

    O…M….G! This is beyond AWESOME!!!

    Like

  5. elaby says:

    *JOY* I’m so excited for further adventures of Persephone and Hades! And for everything else you mentioned! Squeeeeee!

    Like

  6. Miranda says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAH!!! I’m so unbelievably excited!!
    Cannot WAIT To read more from you in the new year!!!!

    Like

  7. Alex Hurst says:

    Woohoo! How exciting. I am looking forward to some more LGBT from you. “The Witch Sea” sold me to your work, and I am looking forward to reading “The Dark Wife” (which is on my Kindle, but I think I need to read up on all of the gods and goddesses again, before I start, haha… have any recommendations? XD; )

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    So excited for your new books!

    Like

  9. Hoss says:

    Ahhhhh I’m so excited about 12 books! *crosses fingers in the hopes that Apple Queen or a novel-length “Falling Home” is among them*

    Like

  10. Acquafortis says:

    The Dark Wife has a special place in my heart. Somehow you helped me make peace with that part of mythology. Keep going creator of myths.

    Like

Leave a Reply

