TWIXT — Release Day!

Ladies and gentlemen, it is my extraordinary pleasure and absolute joy to share with you my second YA novel, Twixt, released today. Insert many OMGHOORAY’s here. ❤

You wake upon the cold ground.  As you struggle to rise, as your breath exhales like a ghost, you know only two things:  You can’t remember who you are.  And you’re being hunted.

No one sleeps in Abeo City.  The lost souls gather indoors at night as Snatchers tear through the sky on black-feathered wings, stalking them.  But inside the rotting walls of the Safe Houses comes a quieter, creeping danger.  The people of Abeo City have forgotten their pasts, and they can trade locks of their hair to sinister women known only as the Sixers for an addictive drug.  Nox will give you back a single memory–for a price.

Like the other lost souls, Lottie wakens in this harsh landscape and runs in terror from the Snatchers.  But she soon comes to realize that she is not at all like the people of Abeo City.  When she takes Nox, her memories remain a mystery, and the monsters who fill the sky at night refuse to snatch her.  Trying to understand who she is, and how she ended up in such a hopeless place, Lottie bands together with other outcasts, including a brave and lovely girl named Charlie.  In the darkness, and despite the threat of a monstrous end, love begins to grow.  But as Lottie and Charlie plot their escape from Abeo City, Lottie’s dark secrets begin to surface, along with the disturbing truth about Twixt: a truth that could cost her everything.

Twixt is now available in many formats!

– on Amazon.com (for Kindle)
– on BarnesAndNoble.com (for Nook)
– on Smashwords (for eReaders/reading online)
Paperback edition here

Signed paperback on Etsy + FREE eReader edition!

~*~

Twixt is a dark fantasy YA novel with a lesbian heroine, and I have been working on it for over five years. Some books are easy, come to their authors easily and happily, and some are intensely difficult, shape their authors and ask everything of them. This is what Twixt asked of me.

Twixt is a story about a young girl named Lottie, and the extraordinary circumstances she now finds herself in. It is a book about hope and fear, love and despair, and I think it’s a story that anyone can relate to. If all of your memories were stolen from you, what would you give to get them back? If you were being hunted by a monster, what would you do to protect yourself? And if you fell in love with someone, what would you do to keep them safe?

I wanted to write a story about a girl who has dark secrets and a dark past. I wanted to write a story about the difference between humans and monsters. I wanted to write a story about a girl who isn’t like you, but who is–in other ways–exactly like you. And I think that I’ve done that.

This novel asked everything of me, which I freely gave. It’s the most important thing I’ve ever done, I feel, and the most important story I’ve ever done my best to tell. It is dark, but there’s a lot of hope in it. It is frightening, but there’s a lot of love in it. I wanted to write a beautiful love story in a very dark world, and I wanted you to feel everything, along with Lottie. The pain. The despair. The sadness. The hope. The love.

Why did I decide to write this book as lesbian? Lottie is a lesbian heroine, something sorely lacking in YA literature. As a lesbian woman, I have spent my entire life looking for heroines that were like me, something almost impossible to find, and I set out to change that. I believe that queer stories are essential to literature, that straight people need to read books about people not like themselves, and that queer people deserve heroes and heroines and strong, brave people just like them.

My first novel, the YA, lesbian retelling of the Persephone myth, The Dark Wife was written to give lesbian girls their own myth. My second novel, Twixt was written to give lesbian girls their own story.

I am deeply grateful that my work has been so incredibly supported, and hope that you will consider supporting it further by purchasing a copy of Twixt. Thank you for reading. ❤

~*~

Twixt Giveaway!

Since I self-published Twixt, word of mouth is absolutely key to making this book a success. Any tweet, blog entry or Facebook mention of Twixt with links either back here or to the Amazon page or Oceanid.org, or–really–whichever page you prefer, would be appreciated greatly! Appreciated so much in fact, that if you comment here with the link (or, for Facebook, simply the mention that you’ve done it–I trust you! :)), puts you in the running for the following!

– A signed print copy of Twixt
– An eReader copy of Twixt
(If you’ve already purchased a copy of Twixt because you’re awesome, I’ll donate a signed print copy to the library of your choice!)

I will draw a winner on April 23rd, a week from today, so you have a week to post about it! Again, please comment here saying you’ve posted about Twixt (with a link~!) to put you in the running!

Edited to add: Congratulations to Laura as the winner!

Sarah Diemer is an award-winning author of lesbian young adult (YA), speculative fiction. Her debut novel, The Dark Wife, the YA, lesbian retelling of the Persephone myth won the 2012 Golden Crown Literary Award for Speculative Fiction, and was nominated for a Parsec Award (first two chapters of the audiobook). She writes her lesbian adult fiction under the pen name Elora Bishop, including the Sappho’s Fables: Lesbian Fairy Tales series, which she co-writes with her wife, author Jennifer Diemer.

Connect with Sarah on TwitterFacebook and Tumblr!

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to TWIXT — Release Day!

  1. Sara says:

    So excited about this novel, Sarah. It sounds amazing. Best of luck on its release. I posted on Facebook about it and hope my friends pick up this book, as well. ❤ you!

    Like

  2. Carmel Mills says:

    Tweeted about this (which will also appear on facebook). I am super excited! My GF and i got each other one of your books as Christmas presents, secretly at the same time. It was hilarious. WIll definitely be getting her this one too! LOVE LOVE

    Like

  3. Just gave a big shout out for your second novel ❤ Congrats! And thank you for your words, they prove to cast a spiritual happiness on my heart-soul. You and Jenn rock, so I'm lettin' everyone know that as well 🙂

    Like

  4. Arielle says:

    Posted about it on Facebook. 😀

    Like

  5. Posted about it on my Tumblr, fairytalelogic. 🙂

    Like

  6. squeem says:

    This sounds awesome! Boosting on twitter: https://twitter.com/sockdollager/status/324972703570354176

    Like

  7. Jessie Quinn says:

    Boosted it on my twitter account here: https://twitter.com/JessieQuinn/status/324205863059460096

    Like

  8. Kristy says:

    I posted it on Twitter!

    Like

  9. I tweeted this here: https://twitter.com/marilavado81/status/326429870898958337
    Wishing you lots of luck with it, you deserve it! 😀

    Like

  10. Anna says:

    I reblogged your post: http://little-greycells.tumblr.com/post/48638869737/sarahdiemer-twixt-my-second-novel-a-dark
    I also tweeted about you here: https://twitter.com/poirotsays/status/326445341220147201

    congrats on the novel. I hope this gives you a good boost! 😀

    Like

  11. I had tons of fun reading this, and the Dark Wife. And I really can’t wait to see what you do with my darling Red Riding Hood in the Sappho’s Fables version 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

