ANNOUNCING: Sarah Diemer's Second Novel, TWIXT, a Dark YA Fantasy with a Lesbian Heroine

As a gay woman whose equality is currently being voted on by people who aren’t queer, who have no personal stake in any of this, and who are the majority, I have been having an extremely upsetting past few days. Not only are my rights being voted on by people not like me, they’re being voted on at ALL (they shouldn’t have to be voted on. Obviously.). People are having dialogue all over the world right now on whether I “deserve” to be able to legally marry my wife. People who have no stake in my life at all. People who don’t care. Everyone has an opinion on something so deeply personal and vital to me, and it’s more painful than I could articulate. Hopeful, yes. Wonderful, yes. But incredibly painful.

So. For my entire life, I’ve done my best, when something ignorant or hurtful or upsetting or unfair happens, to try to create something positive. Right now, there are tons of people saying that I don’t deserve marriage, that queer people are disgusting, evil things. Right now, it’s a really wonderful fucking time, then, to do something even extra positive. Empowered. Courageous and fierce.

I can think of no better time to announce my next novel.

It’s been almost two years since the publication of my debut novel, The Dark Wife. Since publishing that book, SO MUCH has happened. I’ve released so many other things. I started a pen name. I quit my day job to become a full time author. I became represented by a wonderful agency. I became LEGALLY MARRIED to the love of my life.

It’s been a wild and crazy ride, and while I published a novel under my pen name, I held off on publishing another novel by…well, *me.* Once I became represented, I had a lot of dialogue with my agents (who are incredible, wonderful people) about the direction things were taking, what we wanted to do and accomplish, and what I wanted to put out into the world. I am immensely grateful to my primary agent, Judith Engracia, for being such a fierce and vital supporter of all that I’m trying to accomplish with my work. She is staunch and unwavering and vibrant in her support of my lesbian YA, and from the very beginning, I have been cheered on and challenged to create the best possible work, to be the best possible storyteller, to create queer stories without the fear that there was no place for them. We also wanted to create a balance between my self published work and what will be my traditionally published work.

What’s wonderful and amazing is that you guys–YOU–have asked me non-stop since The Dark Wife was released, for another novel. And the thing is, I’ve written a lot of novels since The Dark Wife. But because so much of all of this is behind the scenes, I haven’t been able to show you anything yet. And I won’t be able to on most of them until things are more concrete on what’s going to happen to them. And that’s hard for ME, the lady who finds it ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE to keep a secret for five minutes. I’ve also desperately wanted to share my stories with you–I love these characters, these worlds, these situations so much, and I hope you would, too.

So. After discussions, encouragement and support from my agents, it has been decided that I will be self publishing one of my novels.

So not only am I self publishing one of my novels. It is THE novel. My baby novel. The novel I’ve re-written multiple times, my dream novel, the novel that stole my heart years and years ago.

On April 16th, 2013, I am going to be self publishing my novel, Twixt. It is a dark fantasy story about a girl who overcomes so much to claim love, a girl who triumphs over demons and darkness, and in the face of a hellish world saves herself and the people she loves. It is a YA novel with a lesbian heroine.

Words can’t articulate how excited I am about this, how profoundly and deeply grateful I am to be able to share this novel with you so soon, how much I love this novel and how much it’s changed me–as a storyteller and a person–to tell it.

Here’s a very rough synopsis, actual/official synopsis coming soon.

Lottie wakes up on the side of a frozen river. Her hands are bloody, there’s a hole in the ice, and she has no memories. As she struggles to rise, a strange girl appears and begs Lottie to follow her before it’s too late: because the monsters are coming when the darkness falls.

Lottie is a Sleeper–a lost soul who now finds herself in Twixt. Sleepers believe that they will eventually wake up, go back to the old lives they can’t remember and leave Twixt. And of course they want to leave–there are constant terrors here: the Snatchers–human skeletons with bird wings and skulls who descend out of the skies each night, hunting for the Sleepers; and the Sixers–mysterious old women who trade Nox for locks of your hair. Everyone wants Nox, the drug that can give you a precious memory back…for a price.

Trying to understand who she is, and how she ended up in such a hopeless place, Lottie bands together with odd Sleepers, including a brave and lovely girl named Charlie. Even in the darkness and the nightmares and beneath the ever present threat of a monstrous end, love begins to grow.

I am over the moon with excitement.

Cover reveal coming VERY soon.

Please sign up for our newsletter to be the first to know when the novel is released!

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ANNOUNCING: Sarah Diemer's Second Novel, TWIXT, a Dark YA Fantasy with a Lesbian Heroine

  1. baywoof says:

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to read it 🙂

    Like

  2. maryskye says:

    Can’t wait to get my paws on it 🙂

    Like

  3. Arielle says:

    Yay! I’ve been waiting so long to hear this! 😀 I can’t wait! ❤

    Like

  4. Pingback: Link Round Up: March 27 – April 2 | The Lesbrary

Leave a Reply

