Project Unicorn is on Hiatus for the Month of February

I’ve been putting off making this announcement (obviously! We’re getting close to the middle of the month! ;D), because I was hoping I could change the nature of it.

My wife, author Jennifer Diemer and I write the fiction project Project Unicorn: A Lesbian YA Extravaganza! where twice a week for an entire year, we post a free YA genre story online with a lesbian heroine. We’ve talked before about how this is an incredibly daunting project, but that we’re incredibly passionate about it and will see it through to its end. It’s doubly daunting because we’re not part-time writers or hobby writers or we-have-another-means-of-income-writers–we’re both self employed entirely as authors, and make our living off of what we write. So, simply put, no writing, no living. 🙂 We’ve been working very, very, very hard to balance Project Unicorn (OR THE EXTREMELY UNFORTUNATE ACRONYM OF “PU” ;D) and our other work, and we were sort-of, kind-of managing.

But then I was working on a novel and two novellas and the PU stories at the same time, and Jenn was editing and working on a novella and a novel at the same time, and it got to the point where when I thought about this upcoming month’s theme of Project Unicorn: Myth, Magic and Glitter! I was incredibly upset. This is the month I’ve been looking forward to for the entire project. And I didn’t have enough energy to the incredibly diverse and varied stories that I wanted to do while working on eight million other things.

So Jenn and I had a lot of heartfelt talks about this decision, and we didn’t come to it lightly. We took a month hiatus when Project Unicorn: A Lesbian YA Extravaganza! first began, when it didn’t have that many readers. In that instance, we staggered one month’s worth of stories across two months. That’s what I was hoping we could do this time around, but we’ve found that historically the only way we’ve been able to make Project Unicorn sustainable for us is when we have a month’s worth of stories done before the beginning of the month they’re released. Otherwise, it’s all-nighters and exhaustion like I don’t want to explain. And that’s not sustainable for either of us when we’re already working so hard and so constantly.

We have so many readers now, and so many incredibly supportive people, so I hope you understand that it took us a while to get to this decision, but it’s the only healthy one for us at this point: Project Unicorn will be on hiatus for the month of February. My favorite theme, the theme I’ve been looking forward to for the entire project will begin in March. ❤

Thank you so much for understanding. ❤

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Project Unicorn is on Hiatus for the Month of February

  1. hlr1107 says:

    Thanks for the explanation. I have no doubt the wait for another month will be worth it. What matters most is that you two take care of yourselves, doing what you need to do. You are young and will have many decades of authorship ahead of you – but only if you pace yourselves now, and learn good self-care.

    Like

  2. Arielle says:

    I’m sure everyone will be understanding of the hiatus. ❤ I know I'm willing to wait for amazing stories, I'm never disappointed. <33 It's important for you both to take care of yourselves, your health and happiness should be your number one priority. ❤

    Like

  3. Brenda Agaro says:

    I just want to drop by and say that you two are awesome. What you’re doing is awesome, and it’s totally understandable that the project has to be put on hold this month. Take your time. The work of you two is always worth the wait.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Link Round Up: February 6-19 (Click on covers for their Amazon pages) « The Lesbrary

Leave a Reply

