The Next Big Thing Blog Hop: Jennifer Diemer on her novel WHITE

I was tagged by the ultra-talented Madeline Claire Franklin, author of THE POPPET AND THE LUNE, to take part in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. 🙂 Maddie is one of our dearest friends and a fantastic writer. Her answers to the survey are here.

So, off we go!

What is your working title of your book (or story)?

WHITE.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Honestly, I have no idea! 🙂 The concept of the novel came to me so long ago, before Sarah and I had even met in person–maybe 2002? So, it’s been in incubation for a very long time, though it’s changed a lot over the years. On a more atmospheric level, though, WHITE takes place in a snow-covered landscape, and I’ve always wanted to write a story in which snow, and all of its contrasts (ethereality and numinous…ness v. harsh physicality and nature’s indifference) played a large role.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young adult fantasy.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I’m so out of touch with current actors! It would have to be a rather large cast, at least for the first half of the film… There are a few very important animal roles, too, including a fuzzy black cat and a couple of mythical beasts. 🙂

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Yikes! Okay, I’ll give it a try:

In the snowy woods surrounding Castle Furaie, something runs, and something chases, and Kyle, wayward daughter of a long family line of Trackers, must find the strength within herself to catch them both.

That doesn’t really encompass enough…but it works for now. 🙂

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m writing it under the assumption that it will be self-published, because I want to have a longer work of fiction available to readers as soon as possible. But–who knows? 🙂 I don’t like to carve anything in stone until it’s actually stone-carving time.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Still working on finishing a whole draft. I started over from scratch just this week. I’m hoping to finish writing it quickly, though, since I have a very detailed outline to work from.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Very vaguely and circuitously, I’d say THE HUNGER GAMES; RAMPANT; and THE MAZE RUNNER.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

All those years ago, I sent Sarah the first few pages of WHITE–and she went crazy over it. So I’m writing this book for her. She’s a tireless cheerleader, and I’m so grateful for her love, encouragement and support.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

One word: UNICORN. 🙂 Plus, a whole lot of lesbianness. And my main character has bright orange, spiky hair!


(photo by James Bowe)

To continue the blog hop, I’ve tagged Peter Tarkulich, the artist behind the web comic Bardsworth, and author extraordinaire! He’s also a great friend of Sarah’s and mine. Be sure to check out his blog soon for his survey answers!

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Hop: Jennifer Diemer on her novel WHITE

  1. Arielle says:

    Now I’m even MORE excited about your novel. How is that possible?! <333

    Like

  2. Arielle says:

    I’m sure it will surpass any expectation I could ever have of it. 😀 ❤

    Like

  3. Pingback: Link Round Up: Jan 24-29 « The Lesbrary

  4. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop: Peter Tarkulich on “Mystery, Murder, and Magic” « Peter Tarkulich

Leave a Reply

