On RAGGED

There are many ways to say this, so I’ll start with the simplest:

My next novel will not be Ragged: A Post-Apocalyptic Fairy Tale, as originally scheduled. It was slated for a release date of January 24th, 2012, and has been postponed indefinitely.

To my fans and friends who were looking forward to it, to everyone else who was interested in it, I am so sorry I won’t be releasing it when I promised. There are so many factors involved, and it is with the heaviest heart that I made this decision, and it was not made lightly. I have spent over half a year, every single evening and weekend day with this novel, and have written and re-written it multiple times, but was unable to convey what I’d originally intended for it. I not only am a perfectionist, I value my fans deeply, and can not put out anything less than what I know to be the best of my abilities. Ragged, in the end, did not qualify for this.

I could have released it, but I would not have been proud of it, and though some of you might have enjoyed it, I want it to be the best possible book I can make it. I’ve talked this over countless hours with my lovely wife, who is also my editor, who worked with me months and months to save the story.

We were losing our beloved cat, Shiva, and finally lost him as I was writing the final third of the book, and this also effected the stability of the story. It’s not an excuse, but it is the honest truth when I say that the last third suffered greatly because of how sad I became as we lost our beautiful baby.

As a self published author, I can create deadlines whenever I wish–it was a self imposed deadline which should never have been imposed in the first place, as I knew that I was having trouble with the story. All writers have these books–you write two that are wonderful, that you enjoyed working on immensely, then one that’s like pulling every single tooth out of your body. I never should have made a deadline on a book that was shaping up to be the latter of that–and my lesson has been learned.

I know that I’m disappointing some of you with this, and I am so deeply sorry for that. Disappointing my fans is the most painful thing I could ever experience–my greatest joy and happiness in life is knowing that you’re enjoying my who-knew-people-wanted-these books about courageous young ladies who love other ladies. And that was the final nail in my decision. There are so few gay YA books out there–every single one put out needs to be good. I can’t rush something out that I don’t feel perfectly proud and happy with. Gay kids need to have good books to love, and that alone was a powerful enough reason to postpone it.

I am currently working on two other novels, but I am not saying a word about them until they are perfectly finished and ready to go–unheard of in YA these days, but I want my next book as Sarah Diemer to be a definite before I say a single word. 🙂 The Dark Wife has been loved by thousands at this point, and I need to follow it up with something not as good, but better.

I am hoping that, in the next few months, I will be able to announce my next project. I am hopeful that it will be released by April, but I won’t promise anything. I can say that I have been working on this book for five years, it is my favorite thing I’ve ever written (and I DO NOT SAY THESE THINGS LIGHTLY! ;D), and that I think you will enjoy it immensely. I also think it’s the only book that could follow up The Dark Wife and be better/more loved. I hope. 🙂 ❤

Again, I apologize. I hope you aren't too disappointed. I love you guys so much–you have loved my stories, and I can not think of anything, save for my wife and family and friends, to be more grateful for. ❤ I want to put out something that you will love, and I hope that you will. Another story is coming soon, and that is what I can promise.

(And, if you're wishing you had another novel to read after The Dark Wife, you should try reading the books I’ve put out under my pen name, Elora Bishop–I think you’ll enjoy them, too. <3)

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On RAGGED

  1. Pingback: Link Round Up « The Lesbrary

Comments are closed.