On Universal Experiences and Lesbian Werewolves — A Guest Post by Author Naomi Clark

Naomi Clark is an inspiring lady with a devilish imagination. Her first novel in the Urban Wolf series, SILVER KISS has one of my favorite things in the world within its covers–lesbian werewolves…with heart. Naomi is a dear friend, one I respect highly. She doesn’t write these books to make a quick buck or to be sensational–she cares deeply about the GLBT community, wanted to put out books that everyone could enjoy, with characters and stories that would make your heart ache. She’s done this now, again, with her new release, DARK HUNT, the second novel in the Urban Wolf series.

I am pleased and utterly delighted to be welcoming Naomi Clark to Muse Rising to talk about her latest release, how universal experiences touch us all, and how you can get a FREE copy of her first Urban Wolf novel, SILVER KISS! VENTURE ON, DEAR READER. ❤

~*~

Something that’s been very important to me since I wrote the first Urban Wolf story, WOLF STRAP, back in 2008, is keeping the gay characters central and relatable. When I write anything, I want characters that readers can empathise and sympathise with, but it feels especially crucial when you’re stepping outside your comfort zone. I am, after all, neither a werewolf or gay. And I do worry that it’s an issue (not the werewolf part. I’ve made my peace with that). I worry that my GLBT readers won’t feel that my characters have shared their experiences and been through the same challenges some of them have. Do I have the ability to really convey what it’s like to live as a gay person in a straight society? Do my characters speak to the readers who are looking for that?

And then, whilst writing DARK HUNT, I decided I needed to focus on universal experiences. I’ve never had to tell my parents I prefer women to men. I’ve never been denied anything because of who I love. But I have loved and been hurt, I have had crazy nights out and lazy days in. I’ve struggled and laughed with friends and strangers. I’ve fought for causes I’ve believed in. Those are the universal things, the things we’ve all shared and experienced no matter what, and those are the things my characters experience and share.

In DARK HUNT, Ayla and Shannon befriend another lesbian couple, Clémence and Thérèse, who are struggling to start their relationship. They meet Sun, a werewolf on the run from an oppressive Pack, and take her under their wing. They have their own emotional problems to solve, compromises to make and boundaries to test. I think these are situations we can all relate to, regardless of gender, sexuality, age, or race, and I hope the message that my characters bring is that it’s not what’s different that counts, but what’s the same. I’ve created a world where sexuality is an important part of my characters’ lives, but I hope I’ve also created a world where any reader can find something that speaks to them.

Dark Hunt

Ayla Hammond is taking on Paris.

Hoping for a romantic getaway in the City of Lights with her girlfriend, Shannon, she finds a city under the dark thrall of Le Monstre.

Getting caught up in mystery and murder was the last thing Ayla and Shannon expected to find in the City of Love, but as the body count grows and tension rises between Parisian werewolves and humans they find themselves stalked by an unknown terror.

What is Le Monstre and why does it make Ayla’s wolf want to turn tail and run? Can it be stopped before they become its next victims?

Naomi Clark

Naomi Clark lives in Cambridge and is a mild-mannered office worker by day, but a slightly crazed writer by night. She has a perfectly healthy obsession with giant sea creatures and a preference for vodka-based cocktails. When she’s not writing, Naomi is probably either reading or watching 80s cartoon shows, and sometimes she manages to do all three at once. You can follow Naomi at Twitter; Facebook or on her Blog.

Contest Time!

We’re giving away plenty of swag in the DARK HUNT blog tour. There are daily ebook giveaways and hampers of goodies up for grabs at the grand finale of the tour including ebooks, limited DARK HUNT t-shirts, personal horoscopes and tarot readings by Naomi Clark, as well as postcards from Ayla, Shannon, Vince, Joel and Glory (urban wolf series characters). Leave a comment here (ask me a question; trecommend me a book; or just say hello) with your email address to be entered. Enter at each point along the tour for more entries and more chances to win.

We’re also giving away a free copy of SILVER KISS, the first book in the Urban Wolf series, to everyone who comments. Just remember to include your email address to get your Smashwords voucher and find out how Ayla and Shannon ended up in Paris!

~*~

Sarah’s final note: Naomi will be here, answering comments and giving away free vouchers for her book SILVER KISS! Comment, get a free copy, introduce yourself–she’d love to hear from you~ ❤

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to On Universal Experiences and Lesbian Werewolves — A Guest Post by Author Naomi Clark

  1. Naomi says:

    Thanks for having me, ladies!

    Like

  2. Jacqueline says:

    I’ve never seen these books, but I’m interested in taking one for a spin – the writing in this post is enough of a taste to intrigue.

    Like

  3. This sounds marvelous! I’m looking forward to trying out the first book!

    Like

  4. James Femmer says:

    How did I not know about this before? I must read these books. As a fellow scribe to wolves, this is relevant to my interests.

    Like

  5. Andygrrl says:

    I’ve lurked here a while, but I just have to pipe up to say this book sounds AWESOME. I think the connection between women and werewolf mythology has been really neglected (well, unless you’re Angela Carter), and as a lesbian, I’m really intrigued by the possibilities by opening up the queer dimensions of the genre. And I wanted to say thanks to Naomi for embracing queer characters — it’s nice, for once, not to feel split between a “fantasy” novel and a “lesbian” novel.

    Like

  6. Gemma says:

    I’m excited to read it! THANK YOU for the offer… I am really looking forward to it 🙂 🙂 🙂 😉 Gemma

    Like

  7. Debbie says:

    I’m sold based on this article alone. I would love to, as Jacqueline said above, take it for a spin! It sounds like a lovely series! I know I have a stack of books 30 high that need read, but I wouldn’t mind adding one (or a few!) more to it! 🙂

    Like

  8. Sia says:

    Well, I am OF COURSE going to comment, because who does not want to read about lesbian werewolves?!

    Also, I want to say thanks for this post. The main character of my book-in-progress is a gay male, and being neither one of my big worries is avoiding the cliches and doing him justice as a fictional person. This is good advice 🙂

    Like

  9. Joanna says:

    Oh, wow, this series sounds amazing! I can’t wait to start reading! I do love werewolves, but lately so many werewolf stories have been tediously similar. This series sounds awesome already. 😀

    Like

  10. Sara says:

    This sounds like an amazing series. I’d love to read the first book. Thanks, Sarah and Jenn for having Naomi guest blog so I could be introduced to her work. Have you heard of Jack and Diane (the lesbian werewolf movie)? Originally Jack and Diane were supposed to be played by Ellen Page and Olivia Thirlby and I was all fangirly about it without more than just knowing it was those two and lesbian werewolves… but I’m not so sure about the cast changes. :/ Ah, well.

    Like

  11. heather says:

    I am so glad to actually see lesbian characters in urban fantasy. That seems to be something that is definitely lacking, and LGBT is part of the world that needs to be reflected. I can’t wait to dig into the stories.

    heatwave96(at)hotmail.com

    Like

  12. RJ says:

    Sounds awesome!

    Like

  13. Kirsty says:

    So this discussion intrigued me so much that I went across to amazon and took advantage of the sample chapter they provide for the first book. Now I’m hooked. I really want to know what the deal with this drug is, so I’m super excited you’re giving away free copies.

    So far, the characters seem real and down to earth. Very easy to connect with.

    I’ll see how the rest of the book goes, but already I’m considering giving it as a gift to a friend. See, a good first chapter does wonders 😀

    Like

  14. Nonny says:

    Oh, this sounds awesome! Lesbian werewolves? Sign me up!

    Like

  15. Amy says:

    Postcards from the characters? That is such an awesome idea!

    I just finished (and loved so much that I’m recommending it to everyone) “Midnight Never Come” by Marie Brennan. It’s about the interactions between the court of Queen Elizabeth and the parallel underground faerie court in Elizabethan England. I would love to read Silver Kiss next, it is so kind of you to offer it!

    Like

  16. Widdershins says:

    Lesbian werewolves eh? …. OK, I’m in.

    Like

  17. Elle C says:

    Ironically enough, I found this link after I’d decided on my last minute Halloween costume…I’m a lesbian and I’m a werewolf. Who knew we were on trend? ; )
    My costume here: http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299705_10150383607213856_506673855_8255611_874534288_n.jpg

    (prev post nixed the link!)

    Like

  18. Kat says:

    This book sounds incredibly interesting and as an avid reader I look forward to devouring it..:)

    Like

  19. Haley says:

    who on earth doesn’t want to read about lesbian werewolves…and in Paris! My favorite city!

    Like

  20. Kebreht says:

    Love to read this and possible do an interview? Lemme know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

