THE DARK WIFE — Release Day!

Ladies and gentlemen, it is my extraordinary pleasure and ultimate joy (insert many OMG YOU GUYS’s here :D) to share with you my very first novel, The Dark Wife–released today~

Three thousand years ago, a god told a lie. Now, only a goddess can tell the truth.

Persephone has everything a daughter of Zeus could want–except for freedom. She lives on the green earth with her mother, Demeter, growing up beneath the ever-watchful eyes of the gods and goddesses on Mount Olympus. But when Persephone meets the enigmatic Hades, she experiences something new: choice.

Zeus calls Hades “lord” of the dead as a joke. In truth, Hades is the goddess of the underworld, and no friend of Zeus. She offers Persephone sanctuary in her land of the dead, so the young goddess may escape her Olympian destiny.

But Persephone finds more than freedom in the underworld. She finds love, and herself.

The Dark Wife is now available in many formats!

– on Amazon.com (for Kindle) for $4.99
– on BarnesAndNoble.com (for Nook) for $4.99
– on Smashwords (for eReaders/reading online) for $4.99
beautiful paperback edition here for $12.99

You can watch the book trailer for The Dark Wife here.

~*~

The Dark Wife is a YA novel, a lesbian revisionist retelling of the Persephone and Hades myth, and I have been working on it in some way, shape or form for over five years. I wrote it for many reasons–growing up as a gay kid, I had no role models or hardly any instances where I could see positive GLBT examples in popular culture. Things have gotten a lot better now, but most YA books (arguably, the genre that most youth read) still have straight main characters. In The Dark Wife, there is absolutely no issue that Persephone loves girls, which I think is also something that YA fiction is lacking. Most books out there are issue books–meaning, it’s an issue that the characters are gay, either because they have to come out, they’re bullied etc. I believe that there is a place for those books and that they continue to be needed, but that we need to start evolving in the YA genre. Books influence culture which influences humanity. If issue gay YA books continue to be written, we’ll never move forward, it’ll remain an issue, and the cycle will continue into itself.

Why did I decide to retell the Persephone/Hades myth as gay? Persephone is a very old story, a Greek myth, about the horrible things that can happen to girls and about having no choice–hardly the stuff of empowerment. But there are stories about the older versions of the myth–that Persephone chose to go down with Hades into the Underworld because she loved him. There are also old stories that the much maligned goddess Hec/kate evolved into the god Hades. There were many “aha!” moments along the road to seeing the inherent possibilities of the GLBT within the myth, but the very base answer is that–from the youngest age–I’m not sure why, but I thought of Persephone as gay. In the older versions of the story, there are such glimmers of her courage and tenacity, and I wanted to bring them to the forefront of a story and build it from the ground up. In The Dark Wife, I haven’t just changed Hades’ sex–how I have told the story, possibly it could have happened this way. (But you can read more about that here in my blogpost: These Are Not Your Stories.)

I decided to also offer a free option of reading The Dark Wife, via downloading a PDF on my site. Because there is not enough GLBT literature out there for teens, I wanted any who wanted to be able to read my book to be able to. It is a free link to share wherever you wish. If you read and loved the book this way, and are able to, I would appreciate a donation via my site above, but it’s not necessary. From the very beginning, The Dark Wife was a labor of love.

However you read my book, I hope you enjoy it with all my heart~ ❤

~*~

The Dark Wife Giveaway!

Since I am an indie author, word of mouth is absolutely key to making this book a success. Any tweet, blog entry or Facebook mention of The Dark Wife with links either back here or to the Amazon page or Oceanid.org, or–really–whichever page you prefer, would be appreciated greatly! Appreciated so much in fact, that if you comment here with the link (or, for Facebook, simply the mention that you’ve done it–I trust you! :)), puts you in the running for the following!

– A print copy of The Dark Wife
– A labradorite necklace made by yours truly–a copy of the one that Hades gives to Persephone in the book~
– A sample vial of The Dark Wife perfume oil made for me by The Misery/Love Co.. There is only one bottle of this perfume in existence in the world! It was created for me to wear while writing the book, and is one of my favorite perfumes EVER–it is amazingly beautiful~ ❤ It smells like this: Crushed rose petals, bitter myrrh, honey wine, red sandalwood, dry palmarosa grasses, black pepper, dragon’s blood, six pomegranate arils, and a fresh hint of new tears.

I will draw a winner on May 24th, a week from today, so you have a week to post about it! Again, please comment here saying you’ve posted about The Dark Wife (with a link~!) to put you in the running!

Edited to add, 5-24-11: And the winner of The Dark Wife giveaway is Patrise! Thank you so much to everyone for entering~!

~*~

Also, please note that my best friend, Madeline Claire Franklin’s novel, The Poppet and the Lune has been released today as well! It is one of the most beautiful stories I have ever read, and I recommend it with all my heart. It is an original fairy tale about a patchwork girl, and a boy who cried wolf…and became one. Read, enjoy, love~ ❤

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to THE DARK WIFE — Release Day!

  1. J. Koyanagi says:

    My post is here, m’dear! I’m so excited about your launch!

    Like

  2. Neva says:

    Since I’ve already ordered my copy I’m not entering the give away, but I have to say the excerpts I’ve read put chills down my spine. I cannot wait to have my copy in my hands! You’re so awesome!

    Like

  3. Karla says:

    Congratulations on your first published novel!

    I’m going to go with the free published version for now so I can read it (hopefully I can get it to work on my iPhone so I can read it on the train after work), but once there’s a print version available I’ll be picking that up to support you. 🙂

    Like

  4. Meg says:

    I’ve already posted on Facebook about it (twice even lol) and I’m pestering my coworker about it.

    Like

  5. Thia says:

    Posting to LJ about it right now, and I’ll retweet later!

    Like

  6. Stephanie says:

    Shared to facebook ^_^

    Like

  7. River Roberts says:

    Signal boosted on Facebook! Congrats all around — can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  8. Shel says:

    I posted to my blog, Facebook, and Twitter before I knew there was a contest! Much love and excited to start reading tonight. ❤

    Like

  9. Rachel M. says:

    I’m currently reading my e-copy in stolen moments when Graeme is occupied and content. This has involved a shameful amount of cookies and sorbet. 😉

    Like

  10. Elizabeth Anne says:

    Signal boosted to Facebook. 🙂 Congratulations on your achievement!

    Like

  11. Dakota says:

    Congratulations! Absolutely can’t wait to get a print copy in my hands!
    Getting it off Smashwords so I don’t have to wait. ❤

    Like

  12. Karyn says:

    Ahh I’m SO SO proud and happy for you. Glitter is bursting out of my pores.

    Like

  13. Willow says:

    Yay! Signal shared via FB! (And will be on Twitter as well as soon as the computer will be let me long in XD)

    For now, I am going to read the PDF file, but as soon as I am able I will be ordering my very own print copy as well–because I do believe it is important to support fellow writers. Can’t wait to start reading tonight 😀

    Like

  14. Amy says:

    Boosted the signal via Facebook and added the book to my Kindle. Can’t wait to read it!!

    Like

  15. Tatyana says:

    I’ve left a message on my own Twitter as well as to Rosie O’Donnell :-D. I’ll leave a comment to Ellen as well. I’ve also posted it on my own DW and LJ 😀 SInce I’ve already paid for the book you don’t have to put me in the raffle for the book :-)! Love ya girl!!

    Like

  16. Allison says:

    Congratulations, Sarah!!

    Like

  17. I tweeted http://twitter.com/#!/ivorygrace7 and posted on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ivorygrace7 .

    Once again, congratulations!

    Like

  18. Gemma says:

    Dear beautiful sister and amazing author,
    I posted and linked your book on my LJ so far – and will do more on twitter and facebook
    Love Me the ELF

    Like

  19. Amy K says:

    Posted about it twice on Facebook, and as soon as I get home, I’ll be posting about it on my LJ, Tumblr, Twitter, and I’ll be emailing everyone I know about it!! Even if I don’t win the contest, I’m thrilled to be a part of this!! ❤

    Like

  20. Elaby says:

    This is so exciting! Congratulations! Here is a post on my LJ talking about the book and linking your blog and website. I think you are just incredible 🙂

    Like

  21. Jen says:

    *LOVE* I tweeted and have been spreading the word to everyone I know. 🙂 I would love to be entered in the contest, but I’m still buying a copy because I GET TO ORDER YOUR BOOK. ZOMG, I AM BUYING YOUR BOOK. *glee*

    Like

  22. Amy K. says:

    You don’t have to approve this comment to prevent spam on your post, but I wanted to let you know that I posted in my journal, my Facebook, and on my Tumblr! My friend saw my link and purchased her copy of the eBook version…it has begun!! I’m so, so happy for you!!!

    Like

  23. DD says:

    Aha! Finally figured out how to comment. A bit slow today. I blame Loki (watched Thor again). Anyway, I posted a linkity on my facebook page, too. 🙂 Yay, Sarah!

    Like

  24. BunnyKissd says:

    Omigosh! I tumbl’d and facebooked your link before I even read this all the way through! XD I would lovelovelove to win! (Here’s the tumblr version: http://bunnykissd.tumblr.com/post/5597579948/three-thousand-years-ago-a-god-told-a-lie-now)

    Like

  25. Arielle says:

    I already posted on facebook before I was even able to read this entry. 😀

    Like

  26. Hannah says:

    My promised pimp post is here, dear! I’ve got my Kindle copy, and I’m loving what I’m reading so far.

    http://sugar-fey.livejournal.com/155156.html

    Also, as I mention in my post, your take on Persephone speaks to me particularly (and in a very positive way!) as a survivor of sexual assault, and I’m thinking of writing a review on my journal along those lines once I’ve finished reading it. Would that be okay with you?

    Like

  27. Congratulations, Sarah! I’m so excited for you, and I really hope this becomes the success it deserves to be.

    I did a post about the book and your lovely contest this morning.

    http://bibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/news-dark-wife-by-sarah-diemer-now.html

    Like

  28. Amy says:

    I posted about it on my LJ (friends-locked, of course) here: http://erigeneia.livejournal.com/113486.html

    (I posted it before I read about this contest, but ohhhh would I love a copy of the labradorite necklace! I haven’t even read that part– I’m waiting for my pre-order copy– but I bet it is completely stunning.)

    Like

  29. patrise says:

    facebooked!!

    Like

  30. Rachel M. says:

    I Facebooked, Amazon’d, and Twitter-fied my GoodReads review. (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10796241-the-dark-wife) 😀

    Like

  31. I’ve posted to both facebook and Twitter not because of the contest, but just because I love this so and I can’t wait to read the entirety of it. I am in love with your writing and I am so incredibly excited for you and proud of you. THis is amazing and I wish you absolutely the best with it all. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    Like

  32. Reblogged on my tumblr (fuckyeahlesbianliterature, which has more than a thousand followers) and about to retweet! Plus I will be linking the Bibrary post at the Lesbrary.

    Like

  33. Claire says:

    Tumblred about it here:http://livinginashakensnowglobe.tumblr.com/post/5627588073/hey-yall-you-should-read-this

    Congrats on your first published novel. Just finished reading it and it was fantastic. Looking forward to reading your future work.

    Like

  34. Krista says:

    Congrats – this is such exciting news!
    I made a public post here:
    http://blood-of-winter.livejournal.com/269374.html

    and a friends only on FB (linked to above) since i only have locked posts on FB.

    Like

  35. Léa says:

    I tweeted about The Dark Wife here, and devoured the entire book in about an hour yesterday. I loved it. It’s a wonderful début novel and a great, great queer re-myth. 🙂

    I think I’ll be blogging about it soon, though no promises!

    Like

  36. Brittany says:

    I’m SO excited, I just ordered my print copy! I posted about it on tumblr (here: http://leanan-sidhe.tumblr.com/post/5718575106/the-dark-wife-release-day-muse-rising) and on twitter (here: http://twitter.com/#!/britas/status/72132187264253953) – I can’t wait to read the whole thing! Congratulations! :).

    Like

  37. Laura says:

    I’ve posted on facebook and twitter ❤

    (I wasn't going to enter, but then I saw the beautiful pendant and fell in love!)

    Like

  38. Kristy Kleingardner says:

    Yay! I did it!

    Like

  39. Penny says:

    I tweeted it, and got @cleolinda, a popular YA book tweeter to retweet it!

    Like

  40. Pingback: Love A La Carte | Cloverdew Creative

Leave a Reply

