Sneak Peek at The Dark Wife — Prologue and First Chapter Available!

In twenty-seven days (less than a month!), The Dark Wife, my YA novel, a lesbian retelling of the Hades/Persephone myth, will be released. I can’t begin to explain how surreal and wonderful and overwhelming and exquisitely exciting that fact is~ To celebrate the less-than-a-month-ness, today I’ve released a sneak peek at the novel–the prologue and first chapter of The Dark Wife. You can download the PDF below–if you love it, please share it–it’s free to share wherever you wish! For more information on The Dark Wife, please visit Oceanid.org~!

Get a sneak peek at THE DARK WIFE!

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sneak Peek at The Dark Wife — Prologue and First Chapter Available!

  1. Amanda says:

    It was gorgeous and glorious! The details are so lush, the characters already compelling, and I can not wait to be able to devour the whole thing!

    Like

  2. Foxipher says:

    “Who does a goddess pray to? … We have
    nothing and no one to ask for help, save ourselves.” (I love this quote.)

    “‘And I am the god of thieves and flattery and all that is wrong with the world. It is ever
    so divine to make your acquaintance!'”

    The things that stuck out that could be tightened up a bit:
    –pups of wolves and tigers… Cubs might work better, since “pup” is not applied to baby tigers, but “cubs” is applied to both.
    –Immortals Forest seems like it should have an apostrophe (Immortals’).

    I am looking forward to reading this, and have pointed other Hellenistic friends of mine this way.

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    @Amanda — Thank you so much~ ❤
    @Foxipher — Thank you so much! 🙂 This is the final edit, through my editor, and there are no more changes. I write stylistically, and the Immortals Forest is part of my recreated mythology, but thank you for your suggestions.

    Like

  4. Jenn says:

    @Foxipher Hi, this is Sarah’s editor. 🙂 I wanted to note that “Immortals Forest” is meant to designate a forest full of immortals, not a forest belonging to the immortals (as, technically, it “belongs” only to Demeter). So “Immortals” makes more sense to me than “Immortals'” because it’s used as an adjective. And “pups” here is referring only to the wolves, not the tigers, i.e. baby wolves and grown tigers.

    Like

  5. Dusk says:

    I read everything and as soon as I realized I was almost to the end I panicked! I wanted to keep reading!

    This teaser as me excited for the release! I can’t wait!

    Like

  6. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much, Dusk–I’m so glad you loved it! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  7. Faye says:

    I’m so happy your literary career is taking off in such a perfect way. I downloaded the PDF and it is absolutely beautiful! Every word blossoms into the next with such stunning perfection, seriously, it’s incredible. Exquisite writing. 🙂 Good luck with everything!

    oh and I added it to my to-read list on goodreads and I added you as a friend – hope that’s okay! ^^;;

    Like

  8. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much, Faye, I’m so glad you loved it! And yes, of course, thank you! 🙂

    Like

  9. Amy says:

    This is amazing. I can’t wait to read the whole thing! Every character feels so real– I always knew that the gods were supposed to have human flaws and weaknesses, but you make them actually believable.

    Plus this: “Who does a goddess pray to? I sat very still, my head spinning in tight circles. We have nothing and no one to ask for help, save ourselves. I did not believe in myself enough.” Is my favorite part. It almost hurts, because it’s so true and so very much my experience. But Persephone finds some strength even by the end of this excerpt, so maybe there’s hope for me too.

    Like

  10. Allison says:

    Sarah, this is gorgeous! The prose is so lush, and you do a wonderful job of establishing characters right away. I really look forward to reading more!

    Like

  11. Lena says:

    I really, really, love this, Sarah … I keep thinking about what I have read so far and CANNOT WAIT to read more. I am a huge fan of beautiful, visual prose – this truly made me all tingly. You are, indeed, a wonderful storyteller. ❤

    Like

  12. Jen says:

    I have loved this story since you first told me the seeds of the idea, and I have been beyond thrilled to see it evolve so beautifully. This is gorgeous, Sarah, and I can’t wait to see the entire book. Brava to you for birthing such an incredible story, with so much depth and raw beauty. And kudos to Jenn for her editing talent. ❤

    Like

  13. Willow says:

    This is exquisute, Sarah. So much beauty and heartache in these few pages–and portrayed so perfectly. Also, I love how you paired Athena with another woman–She’s always been a Goddess dear to my heart and I’ve often wondered about that. Beautiful work, and very inspiring to read. Can’t wait to read the rest! (Brava to Jenn for an awesome editing job as well!)

    Like

  14. Maddie says:

    OMG SARAH!!!!! This is so amazing. It was amazing before, and now it’s :O:O:O amazing.

    <33333333 !!!

    Like

  15. Pingback: Love a la Carte | Cloverdew Creative

Leave a Reply

