Friday Random~

Our pups, Poesy and Pan, say: HAPPY FRIDAY! Link is somewhere in the background
being very glad he is far too gargantuan to actually fit into a basket. πŸ˜„
A sub caption for this photo would be: Yes, we are THOSE doggie moms.

Lovely Things

– One of my favorite poems is “Desiderata” by Max Ehrmann. On this very cold and blustery day in April, I wanted to share part of it with you, even if you’ve heard it a thousand times, even if you’ve never heard it–it continues to be a gift, as poetry goes:

You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

– Tammy Strobel talks about ways you can practice gratitude on her blog, Rowdy Kittens. Tammy is one of my personal heroes, and her ideas, passion and creativity come through clearly and beautifully on her blog–highly, highly recommended~

– I’m completely in love with the idea of a “comfort box.” Artist Kim Welling takes paper and her art and makes something lovely and (totally and completely) comforting.

You Are Allowed rocks all socks. All too often, in this world, we are reminded over and over that we must conform, and that we are not allowed and that we must stay with the status quo. I’ve never gotten anywhere with my life by not striving, by not dreaming, by not doing. It’s a fantastic and poignant reminder that you are allowed to dream–the place anything beautiful begins:

Authorly Notions

– I now have an author page on FaceBook! You can add me if you’re social network-ly inclined~ πŸ™‚

– One of my best friends, Rhiannon, owns and operates the lush and magical perfumed land of The Misery/Love Co. She creates out of this world perfume oils, and I love every single one (seriously, they’re amazing). We’ve partnered before in combination of stories and perfume oils, and we are currently in talks for Rhi to create perfume oils based on my novel, The Dark Wife! I’ll keep everyone posted. She sent me, as the sweetest gift in the entire world, my very own perfume oil based on the entire novel itself! ;-; Officially, the notes for it are: Crushed rose petals, bitter myrrh, honey wine, red sandalwood, dry palmarosa grasses, black pepper, dragon’s blood, six pomegranate arils, and a fresh hint of new tears.

This is the label–sadly, I forgot to snap a picture of the bottle itself!

– Have a beautiful weekend~ ❀

About Sarah Diemer

I write about heroic, magical girls who love girls. I drink a lot of coffee. Follow me at http://twitter.com/sediemer or find out more about my work at http://sarahdiemerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Muse 101 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Random~

  1. Willow says:

    I love that poem–I had never heard/read it before. Thank you so much for sharing it πŸ˜€ Pan and Poesy are absolutely adorable in that basket too! That is so awesome Rhiannon’s creating perfume oils around “The Dark Wife”. And that one she sent you sounds beautiful. I can’t wait to see what else she creates for it πŸ˜€ (Sorry for lack of paragraphs–commenting via cell phone and it won’t let me do paragraphs πŸ˜› )

    Like

    • Sarah says:

      You’re very welcome! πŸ™‚

      Seriously–she’s amazing, she has the most scent-perfect nose in the world. I can’t wait, either~ πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Arielle says:

    I love that poem, I only knew the first half, but now I love the whole thing. πŸ˜€

    I’m so excited for Rhiannon’s perfumes! I can’t wait to see what she creates! Your’s sounds amazing! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Sarah says:

      ❀ Aw, I'm so glad! πŸ™‚

      I know! She's utterly amazing–it's one of my favorite perfumes EVER–I can't WAIT to see what she'll create~

      Like

  3. Becky says:

    Favorite blog ever! I love every single one of these randoms, especially You Are Allowed. It’s so easy to be afraid of other people’s judgments – I wish we lived in a world where it was cool to be passionate about who we are inside. I also am so excited about the perfumes! The rest of her collection looks so incredible that I’m sure it will be amazing.

    Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much, Becky~!! ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

